Writer, Mother, Foodie, Farmer, Soil Enthusiast.

IMG_8296I’m a Massachusetts-based fiction writer, journalist, and farmer. I have published over a thousand news and feature articles in BusinessWeek, Inc. Magazine, The Boston Globe, The Hollywood Reporter, Baby Talk and dozens of other publications. My short fiction has appeared in The MacGuffin, The Charles River Review, and the anthology Turning Points: Stories of Choice and Change. I hold a Master’s Degree in Creative Writing and Literature from Harvard University Extension School. I workshopped my first novel, FOUR DEGREES — a 95,000-word upmarket suspense novel — in GrubStreet’s Novel Incubator, a year-long, MFA-level novel intensive.

A Sneak Peek at FOUR DEGREES

Four degrees changed everything. The rise in summer temperatures led to drought, an invasive beetle infestation, wildfires, crop failure, farm foreclosures, migrant farm worker job losses, and a widening racial rift in a small New Hampshire town. Even worse, that four-degree bump prompted the discovery of a body one entomologist hoped no one would ever find.

Sadie Kessler, an entomologist with the forestry department, races to halt a forest fire, but when fire crews unearth a long-buried body, Sadie must confront the murder she covered up as a child before an innocent man is convicted–or worse, deported–because of her silence. The narrative unfolds in two timelines, from the perspectives of Sadie at ages eleven and thirty-eight. FOUR DEGREES (Previously titled The Poachers’ Code) will appeal to fans of All the Missing Girls, History of Wolves, Red Lightning, and The Dry.

“In FOUR DEGREES, Julie Carrick Dalton has skillfully layered an intriguing murder mystery, a testament to the bonds of female friendship, and a timely examination of the innate horrors of climate change. As the compelling story reaches its fiery climax, Dalton’s complex and intelligent protagonist is forced to consider what pieces of the past are worth salvaging … and what she should let go.” — Kathleen Barber, author of ARE YOU SLEEPING, a psychological thriller soon to be adapted by Reese Witherspoon’s production company Hello Sunshine, starring Octavia Spencer.

“Intricate and brilliantly crafted, FOUR DEGREES gives new spark to a classic mystery set-up: A decades old murder and cover-up, but instead set against the backdrop of the threat of wildfire and the timely topic of undocumented immigration. Julie Dalton writes with grace, passion, and obvious ecological expertise. I haven’t read a mystery novel this smart or surprising in a long time.” — Kate Moretti, NYT bestselling author of THE VANISHING YEAR and THE BLACKBIRD SEASON.

“Both a timely and timeless literary mystery, FOUR DEGREES is as seductive as it is smart, blending the allure of Julie Dalton’s beloved rural New Hampshire setting with the dark undercurrents of a community’s racial divisions and betrayals. This is a story of love, of home, of friendship and family, of a childhood’s innocence and an adult’s comeuppance, all of which are in the line of fire in this beauty of a page turner.” — Michelle Hoover, award-winning author of BOTTOMLAND and THE QUICKENING.

“I marvel when I come across a book that is at once timely and timeless, and that’s just what Julie Carrick Dalton’s FOUR DEGREES manages to be. It’s a novel that burns–figuratively and literally–with sharp prose and uncommon wisdom. The world needs more books like this, and more writers as thoughtful and conscientious as Ms. Dalton. Do yourself a favor and have a look for yourself.” —Peter Geye, award-winning literary suspense author of WINTERING and THE LIGHTHOUSE ROAD

“FOUR DEGREES is a fresh and engaging tale of the lasting effects of childhood secrets that also provides a fascinating and clear-eyed look at climate change and undocumented immigration. I did not want the story to end.”— Kelli Estes, USA Today bestselling author of THE GIRL WHO WROTE IN SILK

“In FOUR DEGREES, Julie Carrick Dalton takes on big themes—climate change, immigration, and racism—and weaves them into a satisfying mystery, as Sadie moves between present and past to unravel a secret that has haunted her since childhood. Within the mystery is a coming of age story, and it is in those quiet moments where Dalton shines. Timely and beautifully written, Dalton’s debut hits every mark.” — Kim Savage, author of AFTER THE WOODS, BEAUTIFUL BROKEN GIRLS, and IN HER SKIN.

An active mother of four, I love to travel, ski, kayak, cook vegetarian food, and dig in the dirt. I own and operate the 100 Acre Wood Farm, which is home to eight gorgeous horses (although I don’t own any of them) and lots of organic fruits and veggies.

IMG_2899

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s