Writer, Mother, Foodie, Farmer, Soil Enthusiast.

IMG_8296I’m a Massachusetts-based fiction writer and journalist. I have published over a thousand news and feature articles in BusinessWeek, Inc. Magazine, The Boston Globe, The Hollywood Reporter, Baby Talk and dozens of other publications. My short fiction has appeared in The MacGuffin and The Charles River Review. I hold a Master’s Degree in Creative Writing and Literature from Harvard University Extension School. I workshopped my first novel, THE POACHERS’ CODE, in GrubStreet’s Novel Incubator, a year-long, MFA-level novel intensive.

I am seeking representation for THE POACHERS’ CODE, my 93,000-word upmarket suspense novel. Sadie Kessler, an entomologist with the forestry department, races to halt a forest fire, but when fire crews unearth a long-buried body, Sadie must confront the murder she covered up as a child before an innocent man is convicted–or worse, deported–because of her silence. The narrative unfolds in two timelines, from the perspectives of Sadie at ages eleven and thirty-eight. THE POACHERS’ CODE (read more about it here) will appeal to fans of The Husband’s Secret, All the Missing Girls, History of Wolves, and The Dry.

“Intricate and brilliantly crafted, THE POACHERS’ CODE gives new spark to a classic mystery set-up: A decades old murder and cover-up, but instead set against the backdrop of the threat of wildfire and the timely topic of illegal immigration. Julie Dalton writes with grace, passion, and obvious ecological expertise. I haven’t read a mystery novel this smart or surprising in a long time.” — Kate Moretti, NYT bestselling author of The Vanishing Year.

“I marvel when I come across a book that is at once timely and timeless, and that’s just what Julie Carrick Dalton’s The Poachers’ Code manages to be. It’s a novel that burns–figuratively and literally–with sharp prose and uncommon wisdom. The world needs more books like this, and more writers as thoughtful and conscientious as Ms. Dalton. Do yourself a favor and have a look for yourself.” —Peter Geye, award-winning literary suspense author of WINTERING and THE LIGHTHOUSE ROAD.

An active mother of four, I love to travel, ski, kayak, cook vegetarian food, and dig in the dirt. I own and operate the 100 Acre Wood Farm, which is home to eight gorgeous horses (although I don’t own any of them) and lots of organic fruits and veggies.

IMG_2899

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s